WondaWendy
Top Poster
Top Poster

Female
Number of posts : 1257
Registration date : 2014-04-08

PostSubject: Re: New and Freaking out!   Thu 02 Jul 2015, 11:36 am

Hi Ruby and welcome,

Firstly congratulations on your decision to be sleeved. It is a big decision so very natural for loved ones and friends to worry about you. Heck! Most of us worry about ourselves when leading up to the big day so I'm sure they are just feeling like we do, but with a lot less control over what happens, lol.

I am a teacher and had my sleeve at the beginning of the September school holidays last year. I then took the 2 weeks of holidays plus an extra week of long service leave for recovery. So 3 weeks off altogether.  Ideally another week would have been good but I managed.  I would write off the first week for sure, but if you work for yourself at home and it's nothing strenuous (as you said), you should be able to do a few things here and there from the second week as you can pace yourself, have breaks, etc. Energy levels will be low for quite a few weeks though, or were in my case.

I would like to qualify my post with the fact that we are all different and my advice is based on my own experience. Your initial starting weight, other health concerns, etc. may mean you recover differently from me. I have heard of many similar recoveries on this site though, and even some people who have bounced back faster than me, as well as just a few people who have needed a more TLC and bed rest following the surgery.

Anyway, best wishes with it all,
Back to top Go down
QuirkyQuaintrelle
Part of the furniture

Female
Number of posts : 895
Registration date : 2014-09-25

PostSubject: Re: New and Freaking out!   Thu 02 Jul 2015, 11:12 am

Hi Ruby and welcome! 

It's perfectly normal to be freaking out as you've signed on for major surgery! Everyone has a different experience and like already mentioned, it's not always good as things can go wrong.